Skip to main content

Carl Rodriguez (PI of the group) has been awarded both the 2024 Helen B. Warner Prize from the American Astronomical Society (AAS), as well as the 2023 Vera Rubin Early Career Prize from the Division of Dynamical Astronomy of the AAS.

The Helen B. Warner prize, awarded since 1954, is awarded for “a significant contribution to observational or theoretical astronomy during the five years preceding the award”. Carl’s citation was awarded for:

For fundamental advances on the astrophysical origin of gravitational-wave sources

The Vera Rubin Prize, given since 2017, was awarded:

for his novel and sustained contributions to our understanding of dynamics of stars in dense stellar systems as well as his pioneering considerations of dynamical scenarios for gravitational wave sources originating from globular clusters.

Carl will be giving plenary talks at the May 2024 meeting of the Division of Dynamical Astronomy in Toronto, as well as the June 2024 general meeting of the AAS in Madison.

Leave a Reply